Nadia Police Divided Into Two Separate Police Districts

Kolkata, May 28: In a bid to maintain law and order smoothly and to develop close proximity to people, the state government on Tuesday restructured the Nadia district police administration dividing it into two separate police districts, namely Krishnanagar and Ranaghat police districts.

From now, these two new separate police districts will be separately headed by two IPS officers. The Krishnanagar police district will have its head quarter in Krishnanagar, whereas Ranaghat police district will have its head quarter in Ranaghat.

The state home department on Tuesday has also appointed two IPS officers as the Superintendent of Police of these two police districts. Zafar Ajmal Kidwai, IPS has been appointed as SP, Krishnagar police district whereas VSR Ananthnag has been appointed as SP, Ranaghat police district. Existing SP of Nadia Sri Rupesh Kumar posted as DC (HQ) Howrah police commssionerate.

While restructuring the police administration, the state home department has also planned to set up an independent police station in Mayapur, considering its increasing importance in the global perspective. In Haringhata, a women’s police station would soon be set up whereas a number of police outposts would come up in the region. 

(More awaited)

Share the news