Nadia To Go For Lok Sabha Poll On April 29

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India on Sunday announced that elections to constitute 17th Lok Sabha would be held in seven phases which beginning from April 11. Lok Sabha Polls for the 42 seats in Bengal to begin from the same day and to be completed on May 19 in seven phases. Votes will be counted across the country on May 23.

In Nadia, polls for the two parliamentary constituencies – Ranaghat (SC) and Krishnagar will be held on April 29, along with Berhampur, Burdwan, Burdwan-Durgapur, Asansol, Bolpur and Birbhum. However, people living under Haringhata and Kalyani assembly segments will exercise their democratic rights on May 6 as they fall under the Bangaon parliamentary constituency where voting will be held on that day.

By-election to Krishnaganj assembly constituency that fell vacant due to murder of Trinamul MLA Satyajit Biswas would also be simultaneously April 29.

The Commission would also simultaneously arrange assembly polls in four states – Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh. The term of the current Lok Sabha ends on 3 June. In Nadia, the stage is now set for a major showdown between BJP and the ruling Trinamul Congress. As per the rule, the model code of conduct comes into effect immediately across the country.

Share the news