Assembly Poll 2021: In Nadia BJP Bagged 9 Seats, Trinamul 8

Krishnanagar, May 2: Nadia disappointed Mamata Banerjee as her party had to remain contended with only 8 seats, 1 short of BJP, out of 17 assembly seats in the district on the day her party retained power in the state for the third consecutive terms. 

The results of the assembly poll indicates that the people in Nadia preferred to continue their leanings to the BJP similar to 2019 Lok Sabha poll, particularly in the Ranaghat and Kalyani sub division, known as the Matua belt where the ruling party literally faced a rout. Trinamul has lost in all the seven assembly segments under the two sub divisions.  However, minority community belt under the Krishnanagar Sadar and Tehatta sub division saved the face of the party as it won 8 out of 10 seats there.  

Trinamul’s major losers include its star candidate Koushani Mukherjee, Ajoy De, Sankar Singh, his son Subhankar Singh, Nilima Nag,

Koushani lost to turncoat BJP candidate Mukul Roy by 34134 votes at Krishnanagar Uttar segment. Apart from Roy, BJP’s prominent winners include Jagannath Sarkar, Mukutmani Adhikari, Parthasarathi Chatterjee, Ashim Sarkar, Ambika Roy and others.

The details of results in Nadia:

77-Karimpur: Trinamul’s Bimalendu Sinharoy (110911) defeated his nearest rival BJP’s Samarendranath Ghosh (87336) by 23575 votes.

78-Tehatta: Trinamul’s Tapas Saha (97848) defeated  nearest rival BJP’s Ashutosh Pal (90933) by 6915 votes.

79-Palashipara: Trinamul’s Manik Bhattacharya (110274) defeated his nearest rival BJP’s Bibhash Chandra Mandal (58938) by 51336 votes.

80-Kaliganj: Trinamul’s Nasiruddin Ahmed (111696) defeated his nearest rival BJP’s Abhijit Ghosh (64709) by 46987 votes

81-Nakashipara: Trinamul’s Kallol Khan (104812) become won for the third time in a row defeating his nearest rival of BJP’s  Santanu Dey (83541) by 21271 votes.

82-Chapra: Trinamul’s Rukbanur Rahaman (73866) defeated his nearest rival independent candidate Jeber Shek (61748) by 12118 votes. BJP’s Kalyan Nandi came third securing 58168 votes. In a trough triangular battle Rukbanur eventually won securing only 34.65% of the polled votes.

83-Krishnanagar Uttar: BJP’s stalwart candidate Mukul Roy (109357) defeated Trinamul’s Koushani Mukherjee (74268) by 34134 votes. This is Roy’s maidan victory in the electoral politics.

84-Nabadwip: Elderly Trinamul candidate Pundarikakshya (Nanda) Saha (102170) defeated his nearest BJP rival Siddhartha Shankar Naskar (83599) by 18571 votes.

85-Krishnanagar Dakshin: Senior Trinamul leader and former minister Ujjwal Biswas (91738) defeated his nearest rival BJP’s Mahadev Sarkar (82433) by 9305 votes.

86-Santipur: BJP candidate and party MP Jagannath Sarkar (109722) defeated Trinamul’s stalwart candidate Ajoy De (93844) by 15878 votes.

87-Ranaghat Uttar Paschim: BJP’s turncoat candidate Parthasarathi Chatterjee (90938) defeated his ace rival Trinamul’s Sankar Singh (70270) by 20668 votes. For Chatterjee the victory comes as a sweet revenge as he lost to Singh in the 2016 assembly election. Chatterjee was the Trinamul nominee for the seat, whereas Singh fought the election as a Congress candidate. Singh later joined Trinamul. Chatterjee also left Trinamul and joined BJP to fight the election.

88-Krishnaganj: BJP’s Ashis Kumar Biswas (117668) retained the seat defeating his nearest Trinamul rival Tapas Mandal (96391) by 21277 votes. Mandal’s attempt to return to electoral politics turned futile with this fresh defeat following his debacle in 2019 Lok sabha poll as a Trinamul candidate from Ranaghat (SC) constituency.

89-Ranaghat Uttar Purba: BJP’s Ashim Biswas (114943) defeated Trinamul’s two times MLA Samir Kumar Poddar (83761).

90-Ranaghat Dakshin: Promising physician turned BJP candidate Mukutmani Adhikari (119260) defeated his nearest Trinamul rival Barnali De Roy (102745) by 16515 votes.

91-Chakdaha: Former CPM leader and minister in the Left Front cabinet Bankim Ghosh (99368), who joined BJP  two years ago, defeated Trinamul’s young entrant Subhankar Singha (Jishu) (87688) by 11680 votes. Subhankar is the only son of Trinamul candidate and former MLA Sankar Singha, who also fought this assembly poll as a party candidate from Ranaghat Uttar Paschim seat and lost.

92-Kalyani: Supreme court lawyer Ambika Roy (76724) defeated Trinamul’s young promising candidate Aniruddha Biswas (72423) by 4301 votes. Aniruddha, a professor with JIS Engineering College was nominated by Trinamul as a replacement of his father and former MLA Ramendranath Biswas following resentment over his nomination.

93-Haringhata: Renowned Kirtan singer turned BJP candidate Asim Sarkar (90032) defeated his nearest rival Trinamul candidate and sitting MLA Nilima Nag Mullick (75666) by 14366 votes.

Share the news